2019 KEELUNG CIAO

— Find Your Flow —

Curator / SU Yaohua

“2019 KEELUNG CIAO: Find Your Flow” is the dynamic sketch for natural landscapes, tidal cycles, and the rise and fall of wind blows and water flows in that moment. This is not a motionless traditional sketch; this is the art event links space, time, and people by art instead. This is a modern landscape animation that everyone is able to join in. Scheduling to bridge the glimpses and lessons of history by art projects, let people look into and look back. From the Spanish and the Dutch who came for reclamation and missionary work in the age of seapower, to the people who were busy for living at fishing ports, to you and me who is celebrating for life and traveling in spots, all about the confluence which is people pass through Keelung for hundreds of years. By the focus and orderly strategies of art events, redeploying the meaning of space landscape. Not creating marvelous spectacles but caring about re-new the situation of our stagnant and exhausted living through participation, contemplation, preoccupation, and deep concentration.


“Ciao”is a land art event which unites nature and human, also a public art event which is the city shows their soft but strong ambition for culture and art, surpass the specific art systems and museums. Total 5 spots of this art event are blend into the residents’ daily life. Some places like the squares, land bridges, houses, steel ships, and fishing ports because of the art projects apply in systematical and immersed ways, go off course of daily routine and refurbish features. The barriers between daily lives of the community are broken down. The art projects put themselves in to think about the things related to everyone between human and non-human (nature, industry, etc.). Forming a topology that is unrelated to inside or outside, and boundary. There are 13 art projects enter and stationed for creation. Every art project has a story which mirror the history, maybe is an epitome of times, a freeze-frame memo of industry; maybe is an oral memory of group, or a life history which is gather up community. The artists and art teams who participate in this event includes Ayo, Takahide Mizuuchi, Bamboo Curtain Studio, Divooe Zein Architects, Ho, Yen-yen, Li Cheng-liang, Lin Shu-hao, Hsu Ting-jui, Chang Tsung-pao, Chang Shu-qing, Chen Lu-you, Tao Ya-lun, and Tsai Chieh-hsin. Different culture teams with different creation aspects are bound to bring more abundant “Ciao” for this art event.


“2019 KEELUNG CIAO: Find Your Flow” is a curating which uses Actor Network Theory (ANT). To emphasize the relationality is about phenomenon or the things themselves, to stress the association is about the thing or phenomenon, rather than separations. Actors are just like independent resource points to connect separating resources owners by translation that extend to actor network progressively. Network is a describing method, also a series of actions. The essence of actors is not unchangeable; it is changeable and also influenced by other actors. The relational network between actors is not of course Being. But in the actions, the actors who had loose relationship or even without relationship get connections freely, adjust themselves to have relationship and identity, link up to a network then. The value is not exist in the transformation or style design to structures or spaces but the artists use the specific actions, projects, and installations to animate the community/group/themselves, let people stay here and get together. Only in the relevant connection relationship, the artwork can be functional, also becoming a participation system that is always in the communication reflects and interaction process. Through go beyond routine and comprehend daily life, let the people who have excuse for communication or have different identities can stay and communicate with each other by this opportunity. And the living of residents also become a part of art or art itself. Moreover, through shaping the city memory, people have shared memories by join this event and make a sense of identity to this city, to promote citizen’s participation by art events.


Calling for actions, forming actions, and constructing actions are a creation progress of becoming. To experience local life via multiple sensory, through contemplate to art, are creating a kind of body that is be contemplated. Even if you just slip from Keelung, put down the stereotype and meet Keelung again. Or you ramble around the streets, jump on the steel ships, all about break away from reality and reinvent the reality. These are slogans for actions of “2019 KEELUNG CIAO: Find Your Flow”, hoping this will be an invitation to calling you and me meet in Keelung.


The city public living squares in 21st century have banners, slogans, proposals, and civil disobedience activities. “2019 KEELUNG CIAO: Find Your Flow” also give another choice about creating a comfort space by art, creating diversity of public living for social life, relaxation, and leisure except home life and workplace. You can chat with residents without scruple and burden. You can explore with curiousness, or just doing nothing. Wandering in Keelung, embracing yourself, discovering your own power in the flow.

Close Menu

2019基隆潮藝術

— 流 —

策展人/蘇瑤華

「2019基隆潮藝術:流」是自然地景、潮汐週期、風動水流瞬時起伏的動態速寫,不是讓風景凝結的傳統寫生,而是以藝術捲動空間、時間、人間的藝術行動,是一部你我都可參與其中的當代地景動畫。將以藝術計畫架接歷史的窗與鏡,讓人們眺望與回視,從海權時代拓墾宣教的西班牙、荷蘭人,到在漁港忙進忙出討生活的人們,到歡慶生命、遊歷地景的你和我,是幾百年來人們通過基隆身影的匯流。運用藝術節慶集中而有秩序的策略,重新部署空間地景的意涵,不是只為創造奇觀,而是關心是否透過參與、凝視,出神、凝神,翻新你我生活凝滯疲乏的狀態。


「潮藝術」以既是自然與人共好的大地藝術季,亦是城市展現文化藝術柔軟企圖心的公共藝術節慶,超越了美術館及特定的藝術體制,5個藝術節的駐足節點,與在地居民的日常生活融為一體,廣場、陸橋、房舍、鐵殼船、漁港等場所空間因為藝術計劃的運用浸潤,脫離日常軌徑,翻新面貌,社區日常生活之間的壁壘被打破,藝術計劃設身處地思考人與非人(自然、產業等等)間的「眾人的事」,形成一種無內外、無尺度的拓樸學,構造行動者網絡。13個藝術計劃進駐創作,每一個藝術計畫的創生都有一段歷史回應的故事,可能是一個時代的縮影、可能是產業的停格備忘,可能是族群口傳記憶、或也可能凝聚了地區的生命史。本次參展的藝術家與藝術工作團隊有:不務正業男子Ayo、水內貴英、竹圍工作室、自然洋行建築事務所、何彥諺、李承亮、林書豪、許廷瑞、張舒晴、陳宗寶、陳律佑、陶亞倫以及蔡潔莘,不同創作面向的文化團隊,相信能為藝術節帶來更多豐富的「基隆潮」。


「2019 基隆潮藝術:流」是一個行動者網絡理論(Actor Network Theory)運用的策展,強調現象或事物本身的關係性(relationality),著重事物或現象間的連結(association)而非區隔(separations)。行動者有如獨立的資源點,透過轉譯(translation)的過程連結分散的資源擁有者,逐漸延展成行動者網絡。網絡是一種描述的方法,也是一系列行動。行動者的本質並非固定不變,不但可變,而且還會受到其他行動者的影響;行動者間的關係網絡並非理所當然的存有(Being),而是在行動中,讓一群原本關係鬆散或甚至不具關係的行動者,進行自由的連結,相互調適後產生關係與身份認同(Identity),並連結成網絡。其價值並不在於對建築或空間的改造和風格的設計,而是藝術家利用這個特定的行動、計劃、裝置,激活(animate)了社區/社群/自身,讓人們可以在此停留、匯聚,只有在相關的連結關係中,藝術作品得以運作,並成為了一種始終處在溝通反應和相互作用過程中的參與系統。透過超越日常,體悟日常,讓平常沒有理由往來的、各種不同身分的人們,可以藉此機會停駐交流,而在地居民們的生活本身,也成為了藝術的一部分或藝術本身,更透過城市記憶的形塑,讓民眾參與一個活動的共同記憶,造就對於這個城市的認同,用藝術節慶帶動市民的公共參與。 召喚行動,形成行動,構建行動,是一種生成(Becoming)的搭架歷程。這種經由多重感官的地方體驗,透過藝術的凝視,創造一種凝視化的身體,不論是輕盈的溜過基隆,放掉既成印象重新與基隆匯流,蜿蜒過街巷,抑或跳上鐵殼船,脫離實境、再造實境,都是「2019基隆潮藝術:流」的行動口訣,也希望成為召喚你我於基隆相遇的邀請函。


21世紀的城市公共生活廣場,除了布條、口號、倡議和公民不合作,「2019 基隆潮藝術:流」提議透過藝術創造溫柔的第三空間,在居家、工作之外再造公共生活的多樣性,社交、放鬆、休閒,可以無顧忌、無負擔地與鄰近人們閒聊,可以好奇地探索,也可以什麼都不做,只顧倘佯基隆,只顧擁抱自己,流動中,重新發現自己的力量!

Close Menu